Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

4x2 2008 FJ

8K views 16 replies 12 participants last post by  rcbaughn 
#1 ·
I have a 2008 FJ sand storm, it is 2wd and I want to look into a 4wd conversion kit. I am new to the FJ world and I need help and opinions I want to lift it 3 inches and run 33's. How much would a conversions kit from two to four wheel drive cost? And what is a good 3 inch lift? Is pro comp any good?

#5 ·
Can I ask why you went with the 2WD if you knew you wanted an off road vehicle? 2WD is capable in the right hands but as the others have stated, it's simply not worth the expense when you could buy a 4x4.

#6 ·
I have a 2008 FJ sand storm, it is 2wd and I want to look into a 4wd conversion kit.
There is no conversion kit for this. Besides the mechanical components to make the 4x4 function, the interior/trim components (transfer case lever), there's also the car's computer that would need to be reprogrammed. You'd be taking one of the most reliable vehicles on the road, giving it a heart transplant and then worrying whether or not it was going to have a heart attack.

Sell your truck and buy a 4x4 version. Don't waste any more of your time evaluating this topic. I hope this wasn't a recent purchase, because the sad fact is that you never should have bought a 4x2 in the first place.

#7 ·
There are some good write-up threads on the Forum if you do a good search (I think I used the term "conversion" and found a few good ones).

As a fellow 4x2 owner (bought it for wife when living in TX, now where in MT and the FJ is mine), I did some research on updating to a 4x4, even calling some shops. And, like the earlier posters stated, best to trade it in on a 4x4 if you really need to have it.

One of the main issues has to do with the rear length of the engine, so you just can't bolt on the 4x4 parts.

Too bad, because there's a bunch of people on the forum that turned their 4x4's into a 2x4 Prerunner, so there's plenty of parts out there.