FJ Performance Tuning Q&A - Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum
Engine Performance This forum is for discussion on gas, oil, exhaust and all things engine related.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 08-21-2009, 10:37 PM
Supporting Vendor

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
FJ Performance Tuning Q&A

I have been getting a lot of phone calls and emails asking a lot of questions about performance tuning and enhancements for the FJ Cruiser. There seems to be a lot of bad and misinformation out there on the subject.

I have been doing performance tuning on Toyota trucks since early 1997. I installed TRD Supercharger serial #00032 on my 96 4Runner and it just flat did not run right. I figured out all the little problems and came up with fixes that later became the launch product for my little business called URD about 6 years ago.

Since then we at URD have tried and gained experience with a great many performance tuning products to include URD branded Performance Calibration units, unichip, MAP-ECU, FAST, Autronic, Apexi, AEM, and APR X-1.

For the FJ Cruiser we are very fond of three basic units, URD MAF Sensor Calibrator, MAP-ECU2, and the APR X-1.

The entry level device is the URD MAF Sensor Calibrator. This little $250 end user programmable unit alters the signal from the MAF sensor Calibrator and allows you to recalibrate the MAF sensor to new intake tubes and alter/optimize the fuel mixture for better performance and economy.

The mid level unit is the MAP-ECU2. This does the same thing as the MAF Sensor Calibrator, but adds more feature like full ignition timing control, additional injector control, nitrous control and a bunch of other things. This is also completely end user programmable.

The high end unit is the APR X-1. URD became involve in the development of the X-1 back in 2005 when I was involved in developing some of the original specifications for it.