FJ Sleeper System - New Project - Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum
Interior / Exterior Visual Tech This section contains discussion related to visual modifications of the Toyota FJ Cruiser. Some items might include dash kits, roof rack modifications and other visual modifications.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old 04-24-2007, 11:51 AM
Forum Veteran

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Lightbulb FJ Sleeper System - New Project

Alright guys, this is my first DIY project for my beloved FJ. Introducing..

Problem - I'm tall (6' 1" - 6' 2") and I want to be able to sleep COMFORTABLY in my FJ on camping/exploration trips. The floor in the FJ does not go completely flat as there is a bump right where the rear seats meet the floor in the cargo area.

Known solutions - Plywood, stacking blankets, etc. None of which really do it for me or allow me the full use of the length of the FJ.

Now, I'm a touring musician and instead of paying ungodly amounts of money for ATA flight certified hard cases for our gear (we were in a van, not a plane), my bandmates and I made our own. In doing this, I learned quite a bit about the polyethylene foam industry, especially buying thick, sturdy, foam in large quantities. Along the path I got pretty darn good with a hot knife (tool for cutting foam, etc.) With that said ..

My solution - I'm going to fabricate a modular, two or three piece polyethylene foam insert that will not just provide a flat, level, comfortable sleeping surface in the back of the FJ, but with the rear seat cushions removed and front seats moved forward, will add an additional 1 - 1.5' of headroom for us taller people, effectively creating a comfortable sleeping space for two adults of the 6' 2" or shorter persuasion or one adult of a larger size.