Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

Newbie Bought an '07 !Won't Drive!

15K views 94 replies 34 participants last post by  Winterpeg 
#1 ·
Hello - looking forward to joining the FJ fray. Mine came yesterday on a roll-back with four flat tires and needing lots of scrubbing(!) Not exactly like driving one off the showroom floor lol.

But I have to get mine going first. She starts and sounds/looks amazing. Put her in gear and there is nothing more than a spinning groan. The previous owner says it's the rear end, I think it's got to be the transfer case or tranny output shaft or ??? Rolls fine in neutral and only makes noise in gear; reverse or drive.

I have basic knowledge at best - and just learning the FJ.

Thanks in advance!

#3 · (Edited)
There are many possible reasons a vehicle won't move, Your going to have to provide more information than that..... For starters very first question is this a Standard or automatic?? 4WD or 2WD. If it's a 4WD are you familiar with how the shifters work? What position is the transfer case shifter in. 2WD, 4HI or N or 4LO. Have you looked to make sure there is a drive shaft (seriously)? When in gear have someone look under the vehicle to see if the drive shaft is turning.

#8 · (Edited)
First thing is to verify that the automatic transmission fluid level is OK. There's no dipstick, so you've got to check it at the fill port on the side of the transmission housing. Since four flat tires often indicate that the vehicle has sat for years, I'd drain the transmission pan and refill with new fluid just to see what's in there, and to have new fluid circulating when you are starting your resurrection project.

To quickly rule out a completely blown rear diff as the cause of no movement, shift the transfer case into 4-HI, then start the engine, and then finally put the transmission in drive.