LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 05-18-2017, 09:23 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
New Shocks & 35s

Hey guys!

New to the forum, had an 07 FJ for just about a year. Bought used. 150k miles, 2-3 inch lift, 33s. Everything else appears to be stock. Last time I went in for an oil change they said I needed to replace my front shocks. They quoted me like $750. I'd also like to put on 35s. So. A few questions. Keep in mind I have little mechanical experience.

Could/should I attempt to replace the shocks myself and buy the tools to do it? What should I buy? I feel like this may be a good opportunity to upgrade some stuff.
Can I put 35s on with a 2 to 3 inch lift?
What are some other basic modifications I should invest in? In what order? What can I expect to pay?

This is my daily driver. I probably off road maybe five, six times a year. Nothing crazy.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	13558830_10209771501994441_5967068975682055978_o.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	63.3 KB
ID:	879242  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 05-18-2017, 09:45 AM
Forum Veteran

Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Quoted: 292 Post(s)
Garage
Lifetime Supporting Member
Re: New Shocks & 35s

Replace the shocks yourself, it's a pretty easy job. Use the search bar and look for write-up's on how to do it.
Go with 33's (285's) if its your DD and only off-road a couple times a year. 35's fit but it takes some work and gets significantly more expensive than just swapping 33's on, and will kill your gas mileage worse than they already have.

'07 Voodoo 4x4 AT
The Big Blue Build thread

post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 05-18-2017, 09:55 AM
Forum Veteran

Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Quoted: 307 Post(s)
Garage
Re: New Shocks & 35s

Welcome to the forum!