Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

steering wheel wander

4K views 13 replies 9 participants last post by  SpaceWrangler 
#1 ·
Well everybody, since i have bought my 2007 trd fj i have done a body mount chop to it and put some after market rims on it. (It already had after market rims on it.) But i changed em.

I had no prob hitting back roads in new mexico and going off road , and colorado. But never really went about 60 miles an hour either.

Well my vacation ended, and thus i had to go back to work. I got dispatched to a lil gas plant in Artesia, NM. bad idea, dragged that job in 3 days. Called a different contractor got a different job. So i began my LONG drive to a job in the gulf coast area.

Im a speciality welder for the oil/gas/chemical industry.

So i began my 16 hour drive, boom a blizzard hit southern new mexico. And for some reason i decided to drive 380 south through the permian basin instead of I-40 or I-25. Bad idea as that oil field area had exploded, so it was nothing but thousands of semi trucks, pitch black and a blizzard, and torn up roads.

Also my fj was out of control at speeds about 60mph or more. It wants to follow every little crack and divot in the road. So it was the most exhausting drive of my life, as that storm followed me all the way to lake charles LA.

Its drives fine at 60 plus on brand new roads, but if the road is banged up at all or has wagon tracks from semi truck abuse, it wants to follow them. Wagon tracks being the worst i feel.

I must say i do have 295 17" LT terra grappler on em. Bought the truck with them on em.

and also have the stock bilstens shocks with 2" Aluminum shock spacers. I believe they are called coil overs? Came with the truck as well

I plan to upgrade to a boss lift, with after market UCA ect.

But right now i do not have the time as i am working 7 days a week 12-16 hours a day. for the next 6 months or more.