Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

Looking for an auto 4WD under 15k

3K views 24 replies 15 participants last post by  Xlr8er 
#1 · (Edited)
Selling my BMW 335xi and downsizing/simplifying my life. I decided I needed an FJ and more adventure in my life. I'm willing to fly almost anywhere to buy an FJ. My first adventure will be traveling to buy your car and taking the scenic route back to DC. If you're in a warm climate I'll bring my camping gear and camp on my way home. I'll gladly update a travel blog to the forum so you guys can follow my adventure.

Realistically in my price range I'm looking at something with over 100k miles. I prefer something that isn't heavily modified. Let me know what you have. I can't pay more than $15k and obviously would love to pay less. I'm a freelance designer and recently ruptured my achilles and had surgery without insurance so I'm trying to catch up on bills.

thanks!

#5 ·
My advice would be to wait. All you can afford is a beater, and after owning the FJ and catching up on your bills you'll want a newer FJ that you can modify. If you're going to end up buying a newer FJ at some point anyway, why pay the premium twice?

Find a good condition Civic / Corolla type under $8K, catch up on your finances then come back to us when you can afford $25-28K. Then we'll help you find the right truck via a national search. Plus, you can keep the cheap high-MPG car for when you don't want to drive the FJ.

Good luck!

p.s. kudos on realizing that you should fly to buy, most people have to be told this and are then shocked by it

#6 ·