Another power outlet - Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 41 (permalink) Old 04-17-2006, 07:55 PM Thread Starter
PFJ
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Another power outlet

What is the best way to add another power outlet, anybody? One is not enough for me with cell phone, gps, laptop, sat radio, two way radio, etc.
PFJ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 41 (permalink) Old 04-17-2006, 08:27 PM
fka JimmyHoops
 
TahoeBlue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Castle Rock, CO
Posts: 2,839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Lifetime Supporting Member
Re: Another power outlet

Quote:
PFJ previously said:
What is the best way to add another power outlet, anybody? One is not enough for me with cell phone, gps, laptop, sat radio, two way radio, etc.
A splitter from Radio Shack...probably less the $10.00 USD...or any other electronics store.

Or you can choose to leave the office at home when you go wheelin'.

Just a thought...

Have a question & need an answer? Do an "Advanced Search" and ye shall find: https://www.fjcruiserforums.com/forum...n-dummies.html

'07 FJ, VooDoo Blue, M/T6...mostly stock but beginning its metamorphosis into a expedition worthy rig.

TahoeBlue is offline  
post #3 of 41 (permalink) Old 04-17-2006, 09:48 PM
Forum Superstar
 
gsgmac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Shanghai, China
Posts: 1,928
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Lifetime Supporting Member
Re: Another power outlet

I plan on adding two of these to my FJ. One in the cubby hole compartment behind the parking brake to charge my iPod and one in the driver side rear tail light access panel. That way I have an extra 12v socket up front and one in the rear.

http://www.dlcparts.com/frontend/pro...+Socket&ID=133

2007 FJC
1972 FJ40
gsgmac is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 41 (permalink) Old 04-17-2006, 10:33 PM Thread Starter
PFJ
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Re: Another power outlet

LOL, Jimmy, those splitters are not enough for me and they get in the way. I like gsg's idea. How do you set it up like running wiring, fuses and mounting those outlets?
PFJ is offline  
post #5 of 41 (permalink) Old 04-17-2006, 10:48 PM
Forum Superstar
 
gsgmac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Shanghai, China
Posts: 1,928
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Lifetime Supporting Member
Re: Another power outlet

The one in the center console, I was planning to wire to the existing 12v socket near the switch cluster. It would not be hard to run a pair of wires to the rear either. I just ordered the outlets online and will have them in a few days. The fuse for that circuit should be 15 amps, depending what is shares with, I may raise it to 20 amps to handle a little more of a load.

i'll post when I know more with pics.

2007 FJC
1972 FJ40
gsgmac is offline  
post #6 of 41 (permalink) Old 04-17-2006, 11:01 PM Thread Starter
PFJ
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Re: Another power outlet

thanks, gsg, I'd like to do the exact same thing on my fj just that I am not too handy with these things. Any pics you have would be great. Looking forward to seeing them.
PFJ is offline  
post #7 of 41 (permalink) Old 04-18-2006, 06:02 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Re: Another power outlet

I'm getting the dealer to liven up the existing 12V socket. He says they run directly from the battery (inline fuse) when doing this as it won't interfere with any other electronics.

Then I'll tap off this socket and add another near it. In the meantime I use a 1 to 3 Crappy Tire $10 splitter that works well.
Albemarle is offline  
post #8 of 41 (permalink) Old 04-18-2006, 06:45 AM
Forum Regular
 
njfj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Re: Another power outlet

I am in the process of adding a few extra 12v plugs, but I prefer most of them to be hidden. I usually use a fuse tap to get power - it is a copper sleeve that fits over the fuse but still makes contact with the fuse "plug". It provides the male connection.



Get a 12v socket that branches to a multi-plug and cut off the single male plug. The power wire goes to the fuse tap and the ground goes to any screw that attaches to metal by the fuse box. Now you have multiple 12v sockets hidden in the fuse box area.

I will run the radar detector and Sirius plugs there, and extend another 12v outlet to the glove box. I can remove any of the accessories and move them to any car without cutting wires.
njfj is offline  
post #9 of 41 (permalink) Old 04-18-2006, 08:07 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,495
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Re: Another power outlet

If you plan on adding more than a couple things I would suggest you run everything through one of these http://www.12voltguy.com/catalog1.0.html1.0.html
oldawg is offline  
post #10 of 41 (permalink) Old 04-18-2006, 09:03 AM
Forum Superstar
 
gsgmac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Shanghai, China
Posts: 1,928
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Lifetime Supporting Member
Re: Another power outlet

Fuse taps = Bad
They will stretch the pins out in the fuse box and cause an intermittent connection, should you ever remove said fuse tap. Direct wire connection with a T-Tap or straight to the battery are safer and more reliable.

Oldawg's suggestion is a good one it you are running a lot of higher amperage devices. Rule of thumb, if the total sum of the fuse amperage for individual devices adds up to more than that of the fuse on that circuit, you need to break it out like he suggests. In my case, I am just charging my GPS, Cellphone, and iPod with the sum of these being about 4 amps of draw. I will just use the existing circuit for the 12v socket already there.

2007 FJC
1972 FJ40
gsgmac is offline  
Reply

  Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum > Regional Forums > Canadian Forum

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



  Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
'41 power wagon and '76 vw type 1 DominicG Vehicles For Sale 11 11-24-2006 12:01 AM
Dash/Headliner Power Wire?????? Please Help! Castle Rock FJ Stereo / Electronics / Electrical 2 04-08-2006 04:58 PM
Power Inverter? Bostonian1976 General Discussion 23 04-03-2006 08:54 AM
Power Distribution toobroke General Discussion 13 03-21-2006 12:07 AM
Power antenna?? chewey46 General Discussion 27 02-02-2006 09:39 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome