post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-23-2013, 11:12 AM Thread Starter
Forum Regular

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Need Ham help, please :)

Hi guys,

I'm a hang glider pilot who uses Ham to communicate with other pilots in the air, and also on the ground coordinating where pilots are going to land for me to pick them up, etc.

I do have my Ham license.

I want to put a unit in my FJ, I haven't decided which one yet, but my needs are pretty basic. I'm only on whatever band frequencies like 146.415. I'd like something powerful, but I don't need a million features. Maybe something along the lines of: Yaesu FT-2900R 75 Watt 2 Meter VHF Mobile Transceiver Amateur Ham Radio ?

Anyway, electronics like this are not my strong point at all.

1. what's the consensus on the best place to mount an antenna? Is the bandi mount something that I need or is that for CB only?

2. does anyone sell a kit with everything I need other than the radio? I just have seen so many posts with all this confusing stuff about different connectors and so on, and I just don't have time to learn everything there is to know, I'm going to use this Ham radio very infrequently so I don't need to know everything about it.

This setup looks nice: https://www.fjcruiserforums.com/forum...tallation.html

Daystar leveling kit, dual batteries, Ellis Precision shifter and e-brake handles, steelies, rear air bags for towing, ATF temp monitor, electric brake controller, etc! Thanks to everyone on the forum for all of the great info!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-23-2013, 11:34 AM
Forum Master

Re: Need Ham help, please :)

The link you have has a Bandi mount as an antennae mounting point so that answers one question for you. The rest I'd like to know as well.

2013 Iceberg
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-23-2013, 11:39 AM
Forum Veteran

Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Garage

Quote:
chetwynd previously said: View Post
Hi guys,