Test drive today at Plano Toyota in TX - Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum
Dealer Negotiations/Test Driving This area is for purchasing help, dealer negotations as well as test driving impressions.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-14-2006, 10:14 PM Thread Starter
Forum Regular

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Test drive today at Plano Toyota in TX

The other member's comments about the lack of visibility are straight on. I had to back out of the parking space, and I could barely see anything through the rear or side windows.

The front seat was roomy. I'm a big guy - pro footballer size - and I sat in the driver's seat comfortably. I really like how high it sits. I've been testing driving more "car-like" SUVs, and it was really nice to drive one that sits and rides like a truck. I wanted to take it off the road a little but the salesman wasn't game.

I'm shopping for fun vehicle for < $24K. I was disappointed to find that the entire dealer stock was "loaded" FJs - not a one for less than $29K.

While I was talking to the salesman about pricing, he mentions that there is a $2500 over MSRP markup because of the FJs popularity. I laughed at him, and said, "I won't be paying that."

So he's looking at how soon he can get a 4x4 AT in for less than $24K.

Last edited by CastleHills4x4; 04-14-2006 at 10:20 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-15-2006, 12:36 AM
Forum Master

Lifetime Supporting Member
Re: Test drive today at Plano Toyota in TX

Yeah, don't pay the markup. These things can be had for MSRP at many, many dealers.

"Vegetarians are the enemy of everything good and decent in the human spirit." -- Anthony Bourdain

Promote skepticism and critical thinking. www.randi.org

post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-16-2006, 03:03 PM
Forum Regular

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Toyotatech1