Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

Xenon-Vision's bi-xenon HID conversion plug n play kit install and review

21K views 94 replies 24 participants last post by  sandFJ90210 
#1 ·
Some of you may remember the recent offer of a free Xenon-Vision HID kit from our new vendor/member....well I was the lucky winner! And here is my honest evaluation - I LOVE it!!! Ok, the details...

Before - stock bulbs

After -with 5000k bright white bulbs - beautiful light!!

The kit:

2 slim 12V 35W AC ballasts with mounts
2 Bi-Xenon HID bulbs
Wiring harness/controller

I'm not very experienced with wiring, so laid it all out for a practice run

To look like instructions

And plugged it all together

Then put on mounting brackets

Ready for installation!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

See less See more
#2 · (Edited)
Edit: metal housing can be unscrewed, and bare bulb carefully passed through, thus eliminating cutting the boot :)

First, swapped bulbs which meant enlarging the opening of the stock

rubber grommet

Nice fit

#3 ·
Next up, mounting the ballasts. On passenger, it was easiest to unbolt the washer fluid bottle for good access to metal surface that was far enough from the radiator (heat).

Then mark and drill two holes

And bolt it in

Same procedure on drivers - managed to squeeze in front of the battery

#4 ·
Mounted controller box in front of battery

Ran the wiring from controller under the radiator shroud

To passenger side

Proceeded to plug everything together as I had in the practice run

With this one needing extra encouragement

Attached grounds for each ballast to bolts on outside

And from controller to battery

#5 ·
Discovered the washer bottle wouldn't return to original position, so used a short piece of metal as extension. I believe it would have fit if the ballast had been about 1/2" to the center lol

The other mistake I made was not painting the holes drilled for mounting, something I'll take care of when weather gets warm again.