Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

Changing a tire "off-road"

10K views 28 replies 17 participants last post by  Winterpeg 
#1 ·
Hello All!

I'm a new FJ owner (new to me, just got a 2008!) and a first-time 4x4 off-road driver. For the last 4 days straight I drove around the Kofa Mountains (I'm a landscape photographer and looking for locations). I went further and further into areas that seemed "dangerous" to me (deep sand, over huge rocks, over smaller sharp rocks, holes, etc...). Every day I tackled something a little more extreme and I was amazed that I never popped a tire. My luck came to an end yesterday and I got my first flat. Fortunately it happened on the freeway after I had exited the mountain range.

I had trouble using the bottle jack on the freeway and realized I would have truly been screwed had I popped the tire out on the non-level, alternating hard and soft surface of the terrain out there. (Not to mention the 108 degree heat of the mountains and the fact that in 4 solid days of driving I did not see a single human being...)

So this afternoon I spent a very unsuccessful 2 hours trying to figure out what kind of jack I should carry with me in case I pop a tire in an offroad setting. The easiest solution (even if its pricier) would be best for me. Thanks for any advice you can offer!

:smile

See less See more
#3 ·
Thankfully I have not had to change a tire in years either on-road or off-road but I'm always prepared. I have a Hi-lift jack, rock rail adapter, wheel adapter, tire repair kit, and off course a very good compressor. Before and after each trail run I check out the vehicle to ensure everything is in order. I also do a walk around my truck at the beginning and end of each day even while not hitting the trails. Some think it is overkill but again there is a reason why I haven't had to change a tire in years.