Looking for advice and answers regarding a complete 3" lift - Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum
Suspension / Steering Tech All suspension and steering related topics belong in this subforum.

2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-02-2014, 12:11 PM Thread Starter
Forum Veteran

Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Garage
Lifetime Supporting Member
(Thread Starter)
Looking for advice and answers regarding a complete 3" lift

I apologize in advance...this is going to get a bit lengthy, but I want to make sure I do this right. I was a pretty green automotive noob when I came to this forum a few years ago, but I’ve learned a lot since then. However suspension systems are a complex topic that I have a hard time fully understanding. I’ve spent the past few months reading new posts on the suspension forum even if they didn’t really apply to me, I just wanted to learn. I’m at the point now where I have a pretty decent idea of what I need, just looking for some help getting off the fence on a few things, and answers to a few questions.

I originally planned to at first simply get adjustable coilovers to handle extra front weight and hold off on a lift. But after getting my 33” tires I realized I have just over 3” of clearance into my garage, and since it’s cheaper, easier, and all around better to just do it all at once, that’s what I am going to do. So I’m going for a “3-inch” lift. By the time I get it leveled all around, I expect the actual lift height to be more like 2-2.5” depending on what corner of the FJ is getting measured.

General Plan: