Need help with tire wear and wheel Alignment - Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum
Suspension / Steering Tech All suspension and steering related topics belong in this subforum.

4Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-22-2016, 09:07 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Garage
(Thread Starter)
Need help with tire wear and wheel Alignment

Hey everyone I need some advice here and I'm a bit of a noob. At the risk of asking a silly question after doing a bunch of research here and Google.

My FJ is a 2007 standard model, Manual Transmission with over 150K. I kept it stock for a long time till two years ago. My friends took me out off roading for the first time and I got the bug. First I got new tires, some BF Goodrich tires. Then I got an ARB Steel bumper with a Warn M8000 Winch, so naturally my front end sunk down over an inch. That didn't settle well with me so my buddy and I installed the OME2885 Heavy Springs in the front end which actually gave me an unexpected lift. Just over two inches over stock height if I remember correctly. So a few weeks after the install I had an alignment done. I didn't have any problems with handling on the road or on the trail. If I let go of the wheel the vehicle would continue straight. Didn't have much of a problem with bump steer but there would be a wicked pull on the wheel if I'm on the highway and I drive over a large puddle. Nothing I can't handle though.