Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

Fox vs Icon

12K views 27 replies 17 participants last post by  umami 
#1 ·
Hey all, I've been researching the suspension and lifts at great lengths, reading everyone's input on here and I've got the money to finally pull the trigger on it. I am curious to hear is there a notable difference in the 2.0 vs 2.5 front coilovers in performance or ride quality? Mine is a daily driver but I do want to get into the off road realm. I'm a beginner so it probably won't be too crazy for a while. I am also of the thinking of do it right the first time in quality etc. I am also curious the differences between the equivalent fox and icon set ups. The prices seems to be about the same for comparable kits? Any input would be greatly appreciated.

#2 ·
IMO pick a color. You could probably find the Icons on sale more often but I haven't looked at Foxes much either. I do really like the clicker adjusters on the Icon more than any other brand but I would steer you away from that cost for what you are doing.

2.5" diameter is by far better than 2.0 and worth the added cost to me. Especially if you add some weight with a steel bumper.

https://accutuneoffroad.com/articles/size-tacoma-4runner-shocks-need/

#6 ·
You’ll find a raft of reasons for and against each brand but they are all good choices. I went with Fox 2.5s primarily because I can get them serviced here no problem but was a toss up for me between Fox, Radflo and King, (not impressed with Icon either).

#8 ·
Thank you all for the input, yes i'm trying not to make a hasty or uniformed decision, and now I'm researching King as the price point is going up because of quality, lol. Any input on the ToyTec set ups. I met a guy who works at a shop here in St Louis and he is pushing them pretty hard. Wondering pros and cons on Toytec. Thanks again!

#9 ·