post #1 of 29 (permalink) Old 08-07-2019, 09:18 PM Thread Starter
4-Corners Moderator

Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 461 Post(s)
Garage
Lifetime Supporting Member
(Thread Starter)
Member of the Month August 2019: norm356!!!

August 2019 Member of the Month: norm356

We'd like to congratulate norm356 – Norm for being selected as the August 2019 Member of the Month!

Hayden: Tell us a bit about yourself (Family/pets, work/school, hobbies/interests, location, etc.)

Norm: I am a Senior Principal Engineer at Toyota Technical Center in Ann Arbor, MI, in Body Design for Functional Hardware. I’ve been with Toyota for 29 years. When I started in 1990, we only had 12 engineers in a rented office in Southfield, and TTC was an experiment to answer the question, “Can Toyota develop a car outside of TMC headquarters?”

Now, after what seemed like the blink of an eye (and 30 years later), we’ve got around 1,800 staff in two campuses (AA and York, MI). The development and growth of this organization (on both sides of the Pacific) has been a wonderful thing to watch and be a part of. Travel to Japan was constant during the first 10 years or so (typically a month, or more, at a time). I think I've gone there at least 25 times, and spent more than a year, overall. Japan is a very pretty country, and the Japanese people are amazing hosts, but I struggle with the crowds, the hot, humid weather and can't eat seafood, so there's that.

I’ve worked in Body shell, Evaluation, Interior, Manufacturing and finally found my way to Body Functional Hardware.
Then, after being a manager for about 10 years, I eventually moved on to become an SPE (for the past 5 years).
Mangers work to develop young team members to be future leaders. As an SPE I work to develop new technology to be adopted to future projects.