Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1,933 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm having a Kenwood headunit installed on Sat. morning, There are 2 different unit's I'm looking at buying, one has 2 set's of RCA outputs & the other has 3 sets of RCA outputs. I plan on amping: 1 pair 6x9's in the doors, 1 pair 6 1/2" round rear seat area, 1 pair of 5" round in rear pillars, & a new Sub in cargo area. Do I really need the 3rd set of RCA's? Or does the 3rd set just make it better/easier for running the amp for the Sub?
EDIT: Sorry, posted in wrong section. Mod, could you please repost in correct section? Tanx, MAXX

·
Premium Member
10,851 Posts
G'day Maxx,
Moved the thread for you.
I am not an expert, but I'd opt for 3 RCA outs, for future expansion.... lol,
seriously ... get 2 x RCA and in 6 months you will wish you had 3 ...
Murphy's Law..
Good luck with the instal
Cheers
Baz

·
Premium Member
346 Posts
You need a radio with 3 RCA output
1st per out is for the front speaker
2nd for the back speakers
3rd is for the the sub.
This allows you to adjust each individually. If you get one with two sets of pre outs you will lose your fade and balance. Also with two pre outs when you try to adjust the bass frequency it not just adjust the sub but it turns the door speaker bass aswell witch will blow them pretty quick. I work at a car stereo shop, so I am kind of into this stuff, which explains the long message hahaha. I hoped I helped! Also kenwood is a great choice! Good luck!

·
Registered
1,933 Posts
Discussion Starter #5