Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been lurking around here for several months, but this is my first post. My wife and I have been driving BMWs for 30+ years. All manual transmissions. We decided it was time to move into the SUV arena, but the BMW X5s and X3's are all automatics. We started looking around at other options and she fell in LOVE with FJ's. Ended up buying a 2013 Magma in March. M/T, 80k miles, and surprisingly rust free for northern Illinois. Some surface rust on frame welds but that's it.

The downside is that the PO was a smoker. So I pulled the headliner and rented a rug doctor. I was amazed at how dirty the water was from the smoke. The seat covers also smelled and had a couple of burn holes in them, so I replaced the covers with a set of new TTE covers I found here. And as long as the covers were off, I decided to add heated seats. And as long as the seats and the headliner were out, I gutted the rest of the interior and added Siless butyl mat and closed cell sound deadening mat. Added some 1/4" wood flooring underlayment I had laying around on the floor for qood measure. All back together now, smoke free, and looking as good as new. And SO much quieter on the road.

Started blacking out the silver, but still need to do steering wheel and interior door handles. Will also probably upgrade the sound system, but that's about it. No lift or bigger wheels planned at this time. It's her daily driver and will probably stay on the road most of the time. All in I'm now pushing $40k, which is way more than it cost new and seems crazy for a 9 year old vehicle, but she loves it and I know it'll give her many years of trouble-free miles. Worth it? Absolutely!

I enjoyed the project and appreciated the all of the good information I found on this board. Thanks to all who contribute.

And Happy Thanksgiving.

Automotive parking light Automotive side marker light Tire Wheel Car