Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Premium Member
864 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I picked up a basic 3D printer a few months ago for another project I'm working on, and once I started using it of course I started thinking about what I could do with it for the FJ.

Looking around here on the forum and on Thingiverse =FJ, I see some creative modeling and a few functional items but not a ton. Below are a few projects I've been working on. I'm just getting started and would love to hear what others have done and the techniques and materials you used to get good results.

·
Premium Member
864 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I made a couple of replacement cup holders. There are numerous designs out there and a couple of vendors with high-quality versions. This is a pretty easy starter print because you don't have to worry about structural strength really, just need to get the dimensions right. PLA is easy to print with and I've found that it is softer and doesn't mar the existing cup-well, where PETg will.

·
Premium Member
864 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Made some rock-light brackets also to utilize existing threaded frame holes. Used PETg which is more durable. Since these are under the vehicle I shouldn't have to worry too much about UV degradation.

·
Registered
54 Posts
I designed these heated seat switch bezels out of PLA so that the switch clips into them and the bezel presses into the holes I cut into the center console. Little plastidip and you'd never know the truck came without them!
58103941748--C0E1144E-95FB-4B34-8937-5FDC7E62BB5E.JPG
IMG-0393.jpg

·
Premium Member
864 Posts
Discussion Starter #6