Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JULY's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I recently read the latest off road article on 2 different lift kits for a Tacoma and a 4 Runner. The Tacoma was outfiitted with a Rough Country 3 inch coilover kit and the 4 Runner was outfitted with an Old Man Emu kit. The magazine article raved about how well the Tacoma drove on road, tracking very solid with no wandering issues reported. The 4 Runner used a more basic Old Man Emu kit. What I find interesting is NIETHER installs were outfitted with Upper Control Arms, which many people believe are required for a properly driving vehicle because of caster going out of spec.

What is even more interesting to me is that there is an article regarding how crucial proper wheel offset is for a properly driving vehicle. I am new to my research on lifting my FJ, but have always had the thought in the back of my head that many driveability issues with lifting the FJ while using stock Upper Control Arms resulted from use of wide offset wheels upon install of the lift. Since many people install their new wheels and tires at the same time as the lift kit the alignment is automatically suspected to be the cause of the wandering.

When I used to ride sport quads (ATV) we used to install longer suspension on the front then use a wheel that was more inset to reduce handlebar feedback while adding travel. Basically the more of the wheel that could be inside the axis of the ball joints the better. The results were less fatigue to the rider due to less effort needed at the handlebars to keep the quad tracking straight.