Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here. Just became the proud owner of a 2010 FJ. Seller was a car lot, and didn’t have much info on the lift. Says it has a 6” lift, and I’m wanting first, to identify what brand so I know the quality, and two, if it was done right?

Handles great on the road, even running the 305/65R17 Dick Cepek Extreme Country mud tires. Rear sits a bit higher, and is stiff and bouncy. Bilstein shocks front and rear. I can see the fronts are 5100.
Here’s some pics. Hoping you guys might have some input on the lift ID and quality.

·
Registered
61 Posts
Have any pics from the front lower section to see the cross member? I believe most 6 " lifts have the stock front cross member removed and replaced with a kit.

·
Registered
275 Posts
Without a photo of the cross member it can't be confirmed that you have a 6 inch lift but there are other signs that make me believe you do not. 1. Your FJ still has the stock upper control arms. 2. The front fender flares have been removed to provide tire clearance. 3. Your front axles appear to be at extreme angles. 4. You have an OEM non adjustable panhard bar.

The spring perch on the front 5100's are on the bottom setting which makes me believe you simply have Bilsteins with taller springs.

Having said all this, I could be wrong but if you do in-fact have a 6 inch lift installed, it is Not a quality kit.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Without a photo of the cross member it can't be confirmed that you have a 6 inch lift but there are other signs that make me believe you do not. 1. Your FJ still has the stock upper control arms. 2. The front fender flares have been removed to provide tire clearance. 3. Your front axles appear to be at extreme angles. 4. You have an OEM non adjustable panhard bar.

The spring perch on the front 5100's are on the bottom setting which makes me believe you simply have Bilsteins with taller springs.