Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello. I have been thinking about whether I need 650lb or 700lb front coil springs. I added 360ish lbs to the front of my fj in a front bumper and winch (a very heavy road armor front bumper). Some people say to go 700lb while some say 650lb. Is the 700lb going to be a stiff ride?

Also. If I change my suspension from stock to something like the toytec boss or icon stage 1 do I need to get better upper control arms (coming from stock upper control arms). Is it a must? What if I keep my stock upper control arms?

Thanks so much.

·
Registered
97 Posts
Before continuing, I will say that I am relatively new to the FJ scene (only owned it 11 months so far) but no one else has replied as of me typing this so I'll chime in.. I don't know much about the coils so I guess the next poster can help with that. However with a lift, new UCAs seem to be always recommended but not always used. What I mean is that many run the stock control arms with lifted trucks and report no problems while others claim that doing so will turn your truck into a rolling deathtrap and will cause world war 3 (over exaggeration, but I've come across people with some pretty strong feelings about it). I can't speak from experience because my FJ is still running completely stock suspension. When I upgrade to either Bilstein 5100 adjustables or ProComp 3", I plan to also install aftermarket UCAs because from my research, it seems that only that will ensure being able to get the FJ's alignment back to spec.

In short: Idk about coils, but I recommend getting aftermarket UCAs if you lift your FJ.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks ams for your reply. I have decided to get aftermarket upper control arms based on your help and some other research.

·
Premium Member
12,968 Posts
With all the added weight in the front IMO the 700lbs will be just fine.

·
Premium Member
2,477 Posts