Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everybody, since I'm still fairly new to the FJ's (since September), I've been browsing this forum, absorbing information.

I do have a few questions on a few things, which I couldn't really find answers to, so if someone knows an answer, or can link me to one that would be awesome.

1. I plan to install an overhead console with Homelink using one of the Honda/Acura consoles seen somewhere else on the forum, but have a couple questions.
On the consoles I have found on Ebay, some have a 2 prong connector, and some have a 3 prong. Whats the difference? Nothing visible. I'm wondering if the 3rd prong is for an additional power supply to make it come on when the door opens, like the dome light? If so, can a wire be run from the dome light to that prong? Also, Is there already pre-existing wiring in the FJ to tap into near the front of the headliner? (07, AT 4X4)

2. Highway sway. This thing sways quite a bit at highway speeds. Almost like its always windy. If I have the 4X4 engaged, it seems much more stable, even on clear roads on sunny days.
Is this normal, or should I have it looked at?

3. Speedometer is off by quite a margin. I know Toyota purposely makes them a certain percentage off, but if I set the cruise at 75, my Waze, Google Maps and GPS speedometer all read out at about 71. If I set my cruise with Waze at 75, the speedo will read out 79-80. Is this much difference normal, or should I have it calibrated? I'm running stock size 267/75/17 tires.

Thanks in advance for all the responses (if anyone actually does respond lol)!!

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Another option is to install a rear view mirror with homelink.
I thought about that, but you still need the wiring, so I might as well add lights and storage. Also, finding a mirror that doesnt interfere with the visors might be difficult.

·
Registered
5,424 Posts