Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2,125 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am trying to wire my cb (midland 5001z) to my interior fuse box but need help. Im thinking of using an add a circuit but it says I can only use up to 10 amps. My cb requires a 12v and I dont know the conversion for the two. If you could help me out on what fuse to use and if I can use the add a circuit it would be really helpful thanks.

·
Registered
2,125 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
You will be fine with an add a circuit and a 10amp fuse. Why not go direct to the battery and run an inline 10 amp fuse to positive side?
I was thinking about it but I am not good at soldering so I thought I would keep everything inside were I can use nutt connectors. Thanks for the quick answer

·
Premium Member
2,797 Posts
If your CB pops a 10amp fuse there is something wrong with it. You're fine to use the add-a-circuit. Just use a multimeter to find a circuit that puts out power when you want it (i.e. constant 12v or switched with the key 12v)

·
Registered
2,925 Posts
I am trying to wire my cb (midland 5001z) to my interior fuse box but need help. Im thinking of using an add a circuit but it says I can only use up to 10 amps. My cb requires a 12v and I dont know the conversion for the two. If you could help me out on what fuse to use and if I can use the add a circuit it would be really helpful thanks.
If your CB pops a 10amp fuse there is something wrong with it. You're fine to use the add-a-circuit. Just use a multimeter to find a circuit that puts out power when you want it (i.e. constant 12v or switched with the key 12v)
Use the add a circuit, 10A is way more than you should need. I looked through the manual, weird it doesn't say how many watts or amps the units uses. It must be printed on the unit itself.

I'd use a full time on location

Here is the fuse box guide