Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

I have a few questions about adjustable rear links. I am purchasing some Toytec 2" "Superflex" coils and wanted just a bit more articualtion out of the rear of my FJC.

I was looking at all of the adjustable rear links and kind of got sticker shock on some of the prices. I am a proficient TIG welder with access to heims and johnny joints and was wondering what would be stopping me from making myself a set of upper/lower and a panhard?

There doesn't seem to be any complicated methods of building a set....outside of the fancy billet pieces some make...lol Is there anything I should be made aware of prior to jumping into making these?

What would be preferable, heim or johnny joints or a combination of both? I know johnny joints have the ability to get a couple degrees more rotation than heims, but would it be overkill?

I figure I could probably make all 5 pieces for under $600.00, which is roughly half the cost of kits from various manufacturers. Need some input before I make the plunge.....

Would there be clearance issues with regards to tire rub? I am going to be running 285's

Sorry for all the questions in advance...please bare with me...

Thanks

·
Registered
5,495 Posts
Do it! They are pretty straight forward. With that amount of lift you don 't need them to ba adjustable. I made mine adjustable but have them set at the stock length. Here is a pic of what I built. I made mine using a heim joint on one end, and a Summit Machine flex joint on the other. It's simalar to a johnny joint Tire rub isn't a concern :cheers:

P1010589 by cnckart, on Flickr

And an installed pic.

Picture 005 by cnckart, on Flickr

·
Premium Member
16,781 Posts
IIRC, Johnny joints are stronger than Heim joints.

Johnny Joint®

JJ can be rebuilt, greased, and better for DD applications like an FJ.

JJ on both ends has positives and negatives.
It is the strongest way to build it.