Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone.
I'm having a weird sound in my 2008 FJ when I first turn it on. It usually last a couple of minutes when it's cold.
To me, it sound like an alternator problem, but I'm not an expert on these auto-related things.

I have attached a sound clip:
Post info | SndUp

Any advice appreciated.

Thanks.

·
Admin
7,331 Posts
Sounds like it could be a pulley.

Reactions: cmunozs

·
Premium Member
2,192 Posts
Could be a bearing, the way to know for sure is to take a long screwdriver, or long thin metal rod, and carefully hold one end of it to the base of each moving thing on the running engine (alternator, AC compressor, power steering pump, idler pulley), and then hold the other end up to your ear. Using this like a stethoscope you can very accurately identify exactly where the noise is coming from.

·
Admin
7,331 Posts
Could be a bearing, the way to know for sure is to take a long screwdriver, or long thin metal rod, and carefully hold one end of it to the base of each moving thing on the running engine (alternator, AC compressor, power steering pump, idler pulley), and then hold the other end up to your ear. Using this like a stethoscope you can very accurately identify exactly where the noise is coming from.
Or get a mechanics stethoscope.... they aren't expensive.

Reactions: cmunozs

·
4-Corners Moderator
4,999 Posts