Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
115 Posts
I have the Viair 45043 and it's good. It's powerful and very quiet.

Sent from my LG-LS997 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
3,914 Posts
Many of the negative Amazon ratings for this model describe the same types of failures.

If you are going to be using a compressor for airing up your tires after off-roading, it is a critical piece of safety equipment to get you back on the highway.

I wouldn't recommend a cheap, low-end product for this purpose; I think any of the 400-series Viair products would probably be a better choice.

I have been using an on-board ARB compressor (CKMA-12) for 5 years with perfect reliability and am very satisfied with it.

·
4-Corners Moderator
4,995 Posts
If I were getting an air compressor, Vivair or ARB Twin Compressor would be my pick. And if I were really gonna do a full setup, I would add an air tank, air hose adapters near the front and rear bumpers, and of course (since I'm a railroad fan) a train horn!

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
If I were getting an air compressor, Vivair or ARB Twin Compressor would be my pick. And if I were really gonna do a full setup, I would add an air tank, air hose adapters near the front and rear bumpers, and of course (since I'm a railroad fan) a train horn!
Will check it. Thanks

·
Premium Member
848 Posts
Oasis XD4000 is the best in class compressor, so much CFM it doesn't need a tank it can run air tools directly, american made unlike most competitors, completely serviceable and makes everything else look cheap and low end.
Watching one operate makes all other compressors look like plastic toys.

I run a cheap (less than $100) and low end, Chinese (like the rest most commonly manufactured) compressor. 5.65 cfm airs up a 285-70 17 from 20 psi to 42 psi in less than 2 minutes with a 40 minute duty cycle. It has been running strong for five years.

If your worried about "critical safety equipment" buy two.

·
Registered