Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 20 of 90 Posts

·
Registered
112 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am fairly new to off roading. I have heard allot about airing down for rock crawling. I get the idea behind it, but since this forum has been so helpful , I thought I'd throw it out for discussion and see what I get. I am thinking of a trip to High lakes ( NORCAL) and allot of the video posts out there people airing down. Thanks in advance.

·
Premium Member
1,985 Posts
Airing down gives you better traction, buy what I like the best about it is the fact that the ride is much better. Also in sand and mud it allows you to "float" on top. You also have to weight out losing clearance when you air down. I always air down, like I said I really like the smooth ride.

·
Registered
688 Posts
It allows the tire to flex on rocks and other obtrusions which gives you more grip... the ride is nice too

·
Registered
564 Posts
Airing down gives you better traction, buy what I like the best about it is the fact that the ride is much better. Also in sand and mud it allows you to "float" on top. You also have to weight out losing clearance when you air down. I always air down, like I said I really like the smooth ride.
How much do you air down? What is the PSI that you run in sand/run if its different?

·
Premium Member
363 Posts