Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
About a week ago I had a quick but unusually noisy start up.

My 07 with 40k miles seemes to be running fine aside from the terrible gas miliage I have been getting lately.......until the dash lit up like a christmas tree. The "CHECK ENGINE", the "VSC OFF", the "VSC TRAC", and the "slip-n-slide" indicator lights started coming on shortly after startup, about two days ago.

I just got two error codes from Auto Zone PO455 and PO441.

I am no mechanic in the technical sense but am mechanically inclined and would like to get to know my FJ more intimately......"if you know what I mean"
"wink wink, nudge nudge, say no more"

·
Registered
1,254 Posts
Is your gas cap on tight? Both those codes have to do with the fuel evaporative system, especially P0445 - evaporative emission system leak detected, large leak.

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for your input Canada. That seems to be the consensus. My cap has been checked. No change in the lights. I'm about to head under to check hoses and the electrical connectors I see around the charcoal box. I'll re-post in a bit.

·
Registered
560 Posts
Had that problem also but on my 08 scion (still a Toyota) and it was one of the wheel sensors that had gone bad.

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Had that problem also but on my 08 scion (still a Toyota) and it was one of the wheel sensors that had gone bad.
It's not likely but not impossible that I left the gas cap loose so I hope what I did ....sticks.

The electrical connector I saw earlier was for the e-locker. (checked it anyway) I inspected all of the hoses and clamps I could get my hands on and saw nothing out of the ordinary. I retightened the gas cap. The lights were still there after start up. Bummer!