Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,470 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I need to replace the bank 2 1st cat due to low efficiency.
Have been looking at the DT short header and a Magnaflow free flow cat.

I see some with the later model FJs have had trouble with error codes possibly related to the air injection system. I don't have time to deal with issues... I have to pass emissions next month so I'm hoping to get some feedback before pulling the trigger on either a stock replacement or the header/cat combo.

The FJ already has a 2.25" free flow true dual exhaust system.

·
Registered
2,927 Posts
I haven't seen anything related to error codes with short headers on the 07-09 models, though I have no personal experience. I have read some comments that the best cat for the FJ is the Toyota cat. IMHO unless the short headers + cat + install (welding them together) is cheaper than the Toyota cat I'd probably just go with Toyota. Especially since you only need to replace one side.

·
Premium Member
1,470 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I haven't seen anything related to error codes with short headers on the 07-09 models, though I have no personal experience. I have read some comments that the best cat for the FJ is the Toyota cat. IMHO unless the short headers + cat + install (welding them together) is cheaper than the Toyota cat I'd probably just go with Toyota. Especially since you only need to replace one side.
Thanks for the response...
I opted to go with a direct replacement ebay integrated cat.
Once I have the old one off I plan to build a welding jig so that I can go for the header and Magnaflow cat.
I just dont have the time now to have the FJ down while replacing it.