Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
268 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm about to do mine own FJ at the shop and I was wondering if some of the more non mechanically inclined forum members would like to see what the service is about and what's involved in case they decide to tackle it instead of going to the dealer.

I'm going to be using the SEVERE maintenance schedule (see special operating conditions) so it will be a little more involved than the NORMAL maintenance schedule. Performing a SEVERE schedule won't cost me much more than the NORMAL schedule since I'm a tech and I like the added piece of mind that the truck is fully ready to go since I'm taking it to the snow soon. I also tow with my FJ.

In case anyone is interested I'm a mechanic for a living with over 15 years of Japanese vehicle experience/ASE certified, etc..

I understand a lot of members here work on their FJ's and modify them, this is just for people who really want to see what's involved before tackling it and seeing the real service without all the BS some dealers try and include. I'm going off Toyota's factory schedule so NO fuel flush, trans fluid, engine de-carbon etc... only what the factory recommends. If I do somehow do something not on the list I will note it. There are several little issues I wanted to present as well as I do the service to give you guys a heads up on like the diff. oil weight choices, the cabin filter choices etc..

Anyone interested in this? :)

·
Registered
490 Posts
I'm at 28,700 miles, I'm interested.

·
Registered
268 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I kinda forgot to mention my FJ is the 6MT so for the automatic guys I'll have to either wait until I work on one then update the thread or someone can add that part if they want to help me out.

·
Premium Member
1,808 Posts
Definitely would like to see a fully - illustrated guide.

Driving a 6M/T as well :bigthumb:

·
Registered
268 Posts
Discussion Starter #7 (Edited)