Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
149 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Guys - you're not going to believe this story, but it has a happy ending.

I've been shopping seriously for my FJ for the last 2 months. I've been dealing mostly via phone & email, talking to 5-6 dealers in my local area to find the best price on a 2008. I get a call from the dealership where I bought my Scion (and have had it serviced for 3 years) that they have a screaming deal for me on a Brass Hat vehicle. This is one that some Toyota manager has been driving around, and the dealership sells it at a discount when he's done. They quoted me a good price over the phone, so I made an appointment to go see it the next day.

When I arrive, the car is up on a display rack, and it takes them maybe 20 minutes of fooling around to find the keys and get it down. When it's finally down, I see it is fairly dirty inside, including muddy footprints. The back is scuffed and scratched up like someone has been sliding gear across the bumper instead of lifting it. The truck is yellow, (I really wanted black), 5k miles and doesn't have a roof rack, which I needed.