Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
135 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok...

I am studying for my Technicians test as we speak and was looking around for my first radio. I am sure lots of you have your opinions on this little guy but I was on Amazon and for $35 with free one day shipping I couldn't resist. Thank you Prime!

Anyone have an experience with these radios? Anything I should know?

I am planning on putting a mobile setup in my FJ once I pass my test and get the hang of operating Ham Radio!

·
Registered
3,079 Posts
Ok...

I am studying for my Technicians test as we speak and was looking around for my first radio. I am sure lots of you have your opinions on this little guy but I was on Amazon and for $35 with free one day shipping I couldn't resist. Thank you Prime!

Anyone have an experience with these radios? Anything I should know?

I am planning on putting a mobile setup in my FJ once I pass my test and get the hang of operating Ham Radio!
Absolutely the best bang for the buck! My only suggestion is to get an external antenna. We have easily talked over 10-15 miles between my rig (running a Yaesu) and one of these working with a good external antenna.

·
Registered
135 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Absolutely the best bang for the buck! My only suggestion is to get an external antenna. We have easily talked over 10-15 miles between my rig (running a Yaesu) and one of these working with a good external antenna.

What antenna do you recommend?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Mean Time Moderator
5,570 Posts
I run the GT-3 which is basically the same thing, i have an antenna mounted on the rear door hinge. I'm very much a Ham novice but the guys in the club here rate them highly and the external antenna certainly gives me good reception. And for the money it is no loss you want to upgrade to an vehicle system.

·
Registered
308 Posts