Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was wondering if anyone out there had any advice about what are the benefits or weaknesses of 16 inch vs 17 inch wheels on the FJ Cruiser. I am currently in the market for a new FJ 4x4 but I am completely new to offroading and am trying to get all the info I can before ordering a rig. I am leaning toward the 2011 trail teams special edition because of the the improvements in visibility and rear seat access. I just don't know if I should go with 16 or 17 inch wheels...is it more of an aesthetic aspect or do they make a functional difference. Thank you all in advance.:cheers:

·
Registered
4,384 Posts
Re: Benifits and weaknesses of 16inch vs 17 inch wheels.

Hello and welcome! ^^^^^^X2.

·
Premium Member
7,676 Posts

having smaller wheels, allows you to air down more which gives you more rubber for your four wheelin ride

·
Formerly FJ_Marine
6,237 Posts

What Lee said plus with the same size diameter tire (ie 33") you will get more sidewall with a 16. Also, the same tire with the same size (ie 33x12.5) will cost less in a 16, this still makes no sense to me bacause you are getting more rubber with the 16 vs the 17.

·
Registered
1,195 Posts

The way I see it, typically with a 16” wheel, the difference between the tire and rim radius is greater than with the 17” wheel. That gives you more air volume, more bounce (cushion), and as was said by Athena, ability to air down more.

The drawback I see is that your on-road ride will not be as stable, with more air volume being able to be mushed around.

Either way it won’t make / break your experience. Get what you want, and you’ll adapt your driving to accommodate.

Welcome to the FJ world!!! :bigthumb:

·
Registered
1,824 Posts

16s will give a slightly softer ride given the same tire/air pressure.

·
Registered
1,749 Posts