Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
382 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I finally, after years of floundering, bought my first welding machine!!:clap:

I purchased a Lincoln Weld Pak 140 HD Mig welder. This thing is tits! lol. Anyways, I laid down my first welds yesterday with my Brother in-law instructing me. He was pretty impressed with the quality of the machine, which impresses me. He's been welding for 20+ years.

Anyways, I'd like to get some insight from the welders on this sight. What is a good beginners project to start on? I'm thinking sliders would be easiest, but I'd like to here from you guys. I'd like to eventually make some bumpers, and a rack too.

·
can i become 1/2mil90 for a little while
2,558 Posts
Sweet! I worked as a welder in a metal shop during college. Sliders would be pretty easy if you have a tube bender. You can pick one up cheap from harbor freight. If you do that fill the tube with sand before you bend it. It will reduce the wrinkles since its not a mandrel bender.

·
Registered
135 Posts
My first wedding project.

Took me about 4 weekends to finish.

·
Registered
135 Posts
Thats bad-ass! Looks great! Also looks as though it may not have been your first time tiling
This was my first time doing anything like this. I bought a welder and watched a youtube video to learn how to use it.

Rented a tile saw from home depot and took my time. (I did end up having to buy extra tile due to some bad cuts)

Planning everything out ahead of time is the hardest part.

Good luck with your future projects!

·
2,558 Posts
I built a lot of sculptures and furniture working at that metal shop. Once you get the hang of it, its really pretty easy. Like wegotg said, plan it out good, and buy extra. Welders are good for a lot more than just fab'ing FJ parts.

I designed and built this chair. It's not super comfortable, but its not bad and its a good conversation piece.

·
Registered
382 Posts
Discussion Starter #9