Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
During a brake job, I encountered what seems to be the famous broken wheel stud. I'm counting my blessings that I don't have a stuck lug nut that's just spinning and spinning, I just don't have a lug nut on that stud. I'm not a mechanical person, so just to make it easier I took it to a local garage who quoted me close to $300 (and wouldn't even use the new stud I have already, wanted me to pay $15 for their marked up stud). That seemed quite outrageous. As I said, I'm not mechanically inclined. I'm only 28 years old and this is the first truck I've owned. I know how to change a tire, oil, battery. I was involved in helping a friend replace my front pads, rotors and calipers. But I've never attempted to do any work myself. But I've read quite a few articles on here, watched quite a few videos. I have all the tools and equipment. I got a proper jack and heavy duty jack stands. I feel fairly confident. My big question that I can't seem to get answered involves the front brakes. From my understanding, I'll be using it up and putting her on stands, removing the lug nuts, removing the wheel, unbolting the caliper, sliding the caliper off, securing the caliper, removing the rotor, sliding in the new stud, tightening it to a flush level with a spare lug nut and some washers, replacing the rotor, replacing and rebolting the caliper, replacing the wheel, and securing all 6 lug nuts. My question is, if I'm keeping the same rotor on the wheel (they were just replaced about 6 months ago), is there any reason I would and/or should have to bleed the brake line? That is 1 thing I'm not familiar with, and if so, I'd probably leave it up to the professionals. Thank you for your answers, and any tips or suggestions would be appreciated!

·
Premium Member
3,003 Posts