Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all,

I'm a newbie here, so I hope this is in the right place.

I have been a long time Toyota owner, and have a 98' T100 that I love dearly but its starting to show its age, so I'm looking for something new. I love the Toyota FJ's, and have been researching them in hopes of buying one. However, from what I've read the automatic transmissions have some major issues, so I would like to avoid them. So i figured a 6-speed was in order, but then I read the throw-out bearings have issues and need to be replaced, but its covered under a recall. I've seen these issues in the 07' to 10' models, but my question is do the newer (11' to 14') models have the same issues and need to be fixed?

Besides the transmission problems, are there any other known issues for these cars? Which model year seems to be the most reliable? I'm going to be looking for a later model FJ, probably in the years between 11' to 14'

That 14' trail teams model is calling my name, but my bank account is holding me back.

Thanks guys!

·
Premium Member
4,758 Posts
However, from what I've read the automatic transmissions have some major issues, so I would like to avoid them. So i figured a 6-speed was in order, but then I read the throw-out bearings have issues and need to be replaced, but its covered under a recall. I've seen these issues in the 07' to 10' models, but my question is do the newer (11' to 14') models have the same issues and need to be fixed?
The throwout bearing issue is common knowledge here, but the automatic transmission issues you're asking about are not. Where did you read about issues? The only gripe (not an issue) is that the transmission is sealed and not intended to be serviced, but you should still be doing fluid flushes every ~100K or so.