Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

· Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Guys,

I am a total newbie to the FJ but fell in love with it after researching it.

Being on a budget (12K-15K) I see a lot out there with over 120K miles on it. Knowing the reliabilty of toyotas it still seems like a lot of money to me for a car with that many miles. US cars always started causing me trouble at around 95K (blown head gaskets, coolant hoses, transmissions..)

I guess my question is, what is there to expect or to look out for when buying a FJ with more than 100K miles. I read here that that 06/07 had issues with the rear end but, thats pretty much all i found so far. So I propably would prefer a 08 FJ.

If you have any ideas I need to look for and tell me whats your opinion about high milage used FJs, I appreciate it.

:rocker:

· Premium Member
296 Posts
My first Toyota was a pickup (before they had more than one pickup, it was just the Toyota pickup). Before that I'd driven mostly Fords. Around 100k miles the pickup started to use oil. Just about every one of my previous cars had not only started using oil around 100k, but most needed an overhaul not long after that, so it didn't strike me as odd that it was using oil. Then Toyota issued a recall or TSB or something saying the rings had been installed incorrectly, and they fixed it. (Apparently every Ford I'd ever owned needed to be recalled.) I sold that truck at around 200k miles, it never used oil again. The rear differential was starting to make noise but that was about it. (I sold it to a mechanic who was looking for a fixer-upper.)

I sold my 2008 at around 130k miles. It was a manual transmission and had the throwout bearing fixed under warranty, that never came back and it had no other major problems. I would have driven it to 200k miles too if Toyota hadn't discontinued the FJ. I panicked and got a 2014 while I still could.