Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
255 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I am relatively new to the forum after lurking for a month or so and this is my first attempt to give back in some way.

THE BACKGROUND

So first off, I’ll tell you a little bit about me, my vehicle and my needs.
I am a graduate student studying Biology with most of my research done in coastal areas, often in national parks and other places that don’t allow camping and have limited facilities. My field work involves early mornings, late nights, and long distances from my home. So having even earlier mornings and later nights to sleep in my own bed is often not a viable solution. Because of this I found myself sleeping in my car all too often, painful in my last car, bearable in the passenger seat of my new (to me) FJ. Camping was generally not viable as my tent took far too long to set up, took up a bunch of interior cargo space, and didn’t do so hot on the wet ground.

THE SHOPPING & PURCHASE

Thanks to the FJ cruiser forums I saw rooftop tents for the first time, being on a student’s budget I began researching obsessively to find something that would both be affordable and fully functional for my purposes. Relatively quickly and mostly for price reasons I began focusing in on the soft rooftop tents, and from looking at the rooftop tent thread I found several viable options. The most affordable of which is the one I really narrowed my focus too, the campinglabs tent.

So now is the part where the obsessive googling begins. I get tons of hits all positive about the tent. Unfortunately 80% of the hits are the exact same review that has just been posted on dozens of forums, that doesn’t make me feel so confident. However since I can’t find any negative reviews to speak of I contact Fernando the owner of the company to talk.