Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
225 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK. My handheld CB has died. Now I want to put one in my FJ. Im thinking of going the HAM route.

First, do they make an all in one unit that has HAM and CB in it, or do I have to buy 2 units?

Im sure Ill have tons of other questions as Im am a complete newb with HAM.

Thanks!

·
Premium Member
387 Posts
OK. My handheld CB has died. Now I want to put one in my FJ. Im thinking of going the HAM route.

First, do they make an all in one unit that has HAM and CB in it, or do I have to buy 2 units?

Thanks!
No, HAM and CB are on totally different frequencies, and you can't use one to talk on the other. Mainly because it's illegal. You'll find that the most frustrating thing about HAM is the rule stating that you have to talk on specific frequencies on a "type accepted" radio. Which means you can't talk on commercial frequencies unless you have a commercial radio, you can't talk on CB frequencies with a HAM, etc.

Now that you know it's illegal, I'll tell you that some people will buy a 10M capable radio, and modify it for use on the CB frequencies. But HAM's mostly use 2M and 70CM unless you're talking on HF. Tech license only gives you the ability to use certain frequencies, so that's where you should start. I've got a commercial radio, a HAM radio, and a CB radio in my FJ. The HAM is an FT8800R with the head mounted just to the left of the steering wheel. The CB is mounted by my right knee, and the commercial is sitting in the storage compartment between the seats. You'll need different antennas for most of the different bands, although there are some antennas that can cover multiple bands. My HAM antenna covers all the frequencies my FT8800R has, and I've got a mag mount for the commercial. The CB has to have a different antenna as well.