Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of September's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1,147 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey guys with the thanks of another member on these boards I now have my cobra cb and bandi mount all hooked up....used a SWR metter and it is tuned up good(under 2) my question what kind of range can I get with it now? I am new to the whole CB thing....wanted this mostly for being out on the trails......Its crazy but I can receive transmissions from all over, I heard talk in GA, and I have also heard talk from NC(unless it was all BS) I am in FL is that possible? so how far can I transmit? also my other question is can someone explain to me the channel 9 emergency setting? I mean is it set to channel 9 and transmit...then what?(who is listening on that channel?) fill me in a little please....I thank you all

·
Premium Member
6,057 Posts
hey guys with the thanks of another member on these boards I now have my cobra cb and bandi mount all hooked up....used a SWR metter and it is tuned up good(under 2) my question what kind of range can I get with it now? I am new to the whole CB thing....wanted this mostly for being out on the trails......Its crazy but I can receive transmissions from all over, I heard talk in GA, and I have also heard talk from NC(unless it was all BS) I am in FL is that possible? so how far can I transmit? also my other question is can someone explain to me the channel 9 emergency setting? I mean is it set to channel 9 and transmit...then what?(who is listening on that channel?) fill me in a little please....I thank you all
Usually you'll get "skip" at night when the ionosphere lowers. The distant transmissions you hear have skipped off the atmosphere and bounced down to where you are.

Depending on your output and your antenna, you're lucky to get 1-2 miles on a CB without a pre-amp or some other illegal set-up.