Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
504 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Help!

I just went to Radio Shack and picked up an SWR meter for the CB. I went out to test it and here is what I found......First I seem to have all the weather bands loud and clear and I can hear numerous people transmitting on different channels. When I plug in the meter I hold down the transmit key and calibrate the meter, then I move the switch to SWR and hold the transmit key and every reading is over 3.5 in the red? I am not sure what this means but I know that I would like to have it lower? I have an FJ Cruiser with the bandi mount. I tightened everything down and there are no kinks in the coax. I am confused be cause I am able to hear people on channels so do I just have a bad meter? Thanks for any and all help I am a noob on all this electrical wiring.

Jeremy

·
Premium Member
239 Posts
If you haven't already, I would try to scrape or sand off any paint that maybe keeping the antenna mount from getting a good ground. I did this to my Bandi mount and the SWR is less then 1.

·
Registered
504 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
I scraped off the paint on the door for the nut and the underside for the bolt? I will head out and try to get more off the door again and see? I am confused on why I can receive on channels when I am sitting in the driveway but I still have a high SWR reading? The other thing I tried was to take a loose wire from the nut on the bandi mount to the frame just to make sure I had a ground and there was no difference in the reading?

·
Premium Member
239 Posts
You also scraped the Bandi mount surface between the antenna bulk head mount? What cable are you using? For a single antenna, it should be RG58. What brand and model antenna are you running?

·
Premium Member
9,345 Posts