Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
172 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all! I have been surfing these forums for about 3 months now and I have finally registered! :wave: I wanted to get some suggestions on what cheap upgrades (under $400) you all think I should invest in. I already have a 3" RC Suspension lift, Man-A-Fre LCA's, and Total Chaos rear lower link skid plates. As for tires, I have already budgeted for my 285/75R17 tires for my stock FJ Rims until I can afford to get some decent wheels. Any suggestions? I am looking for something that will be useful to me out on the trail.

·
FJ Expeditions R Us
4,084 Posts
Welcome aboard! You'll find a host of information herein and lots of opinions on what is needed for off-road travel. In addition to what you've already done, I'd suggest doing the Scuba Mod, adding rock rails and definately skid plates! Bud Builts of course...

As a side note, you'll see alot of mods done that look great and impress friends, but are not functional or really necessary.

cheers,

dale

·
Premium Member
1,163 Posts
I'd highly recommend rock sliders (or rock rails as some call them).

I'm very happy with my set from Trail-Gear, but I know there are quite a few options out there.

I'd then recommend spending the rest on recovery gear.

·
Registered
172 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks for the suggestions guys! I'll probably invest in some sliders and a full set of skids next!

·
Registered
493 Posts
A good upgrade you can do also it an set of ToyOutfitters LCA's. Much stronger than the OEM ones. Throw on a set of link armor, front and rear, and some lower shock armor too.

Did you read through the "The First $2000" thread? Good information there on what mods to do.
http://www.fjcruiserforums.com/forums/4x4-off-road-tech/60034-first-2000-a.html

A full set of skids will run you $800 to $1000+, depending on what you get.
(Budbuilt, Ricochet, All-Pro, Man-A-Fre)