Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
1,720 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Recently gave the FJ a good scrubbing once I was sure the winter weather had passed. While shinny and purdy from afar, I saw a good amount of contaminants in the paint, especially the lower door panels. I've never used a clay bar before but am going to give it a try.

I have one question though. Once the clay bar pulls the nasty stuff off the paint, where does it go from there? It must just stay in the clay, but won't that stuff scratch the paint as you continue to use the clay? How many times can you reuse the clay before it needs to be replaced?

·
Registered
9 Posts
I just "clay bared" my silver 2007 with the "Mother's" kit. Unbeliveable, slick ,shinny, and really holds the wax now. It is easy too, nothing like you think it would be. Good luck.

·
Registered
142 Posts
You need to periodically remodel the clay as you are claying the car. If the clay looks a little dirty then you need to remodel/reshape it. This will help prevent the contaniments from scratching the car. Make sure you use the clay bar very lightly and don't really apply much pressure. Just the the clay do the work and glide it over the paint. Also, make sure to wet the paint during the process. The clay should glide over the wet paint. You will then want to wax your car after claying to protect the finish. Check out youtube.com, they have some great videos on how to do this process. Hope this helps!

·
Registered
1,187 Posts