Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
2,874 Posts
I don't think so... the blue one at SEMA had Donohoe Racing coil overs. I do not believe that the coil overs are standard. I could be wrong though.

·
Registered
378 Posts
FJ Cruiser #8 said:
Does the FJ have coilovers all the way around? :confused:

Do you guys recommend any particular type of coilovers? I'm a novice in this department

·
Registered
378 Posts
ToyBox said:
Not talking from experience but the Donohoe's and OME's seem to be popular choices.
Thats my take too Toy. I wonder if it's cuz they are easy to adjust ?? :confused:
I think I'll find out more about them when the time comes. Kind of a fish out of water on this stuff..

·
Registered
35 Posts
Well the FJ is based on a shortened 4RUnner platform, so it will be interesting to see exactly how much alike they are. There are already aftermarket coilovers available for the Runner and the Tacomas, so maybe the new FJ will be able to use some of those...

...time will tell.

·
Registered
2,874 Posts
I wrote Donohoe Racing yesterday to get some more information on their lift for the FJ. As soon as I know more - YOU TOO will know more.

·
Registered
32 Posts
FJ Cruiser #8 said:
Does the FJ have coilovers all the way around? :confused:
When you say coilovers "all the way around", are you referring to the rear suspension too. If so, then the rear suspension does not have "Coilovers". It is a live solid axle that uses a 4 link system. Coil springs are used, as are shocks, but not in a single, contained unit.

Donohoe makes coilovers for the front suspension only. The rear suspension will probably be best replaced by OME.

·
Registered
32 Posts
It did not have either. It uses coils in the rear suspension, but not "coilovers". I, and most others, define a coilover as a coilspring and shock made into a self-contained unit, where the coil covers the shock and act as a single unit.

·
Registered
1,252 Posts