Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
297 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Now that the cold weather has come around, I've been noticing that it takes a while for my 2010 with 5k miles on it to come up to what I think is full running temperature. Longer that what I would expect. Today I notice that it took about 20 minutes of driving around residential area roads (25-35 mph) for the temp to get up to where I think is normal running temp on the gauge, where it is pointing to the lower side of the "D" in drive. After reading the thread on the thermostat being stuck open, I'm starting to wonder if that's my issue. My mileage always sucked, but I had blamed it on my 3 mile commute and the fact that I'm never warming up by the time I get to work. So, here's a question for everyone. About how long does it take to get your engine up to running temperature in say, 30F weather? I'm thinking 20 minutes is too long. On top of that I'm getting terrible gas mileage. I'm down to 1/4 of a tank and the trip odometer is at 143 miles for this tank.

·
Registered
297 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I have a long drive up into the mountains this coming Friday for a January winter offroad trip, so I've thought about partially blocking the radiator during that drive to see if it helps the mileage and get better heat. The more I read on the forum about the thermostat, the more I think I'm not running at a good engine temp. Damn idiot gauges. How the hell are you supposed to know what temp it's at or what's normal. Certainly not by the gauge. Anyone ever install a digital thermostat or at least a gauge with friggin numbers on it?

·
Registered
83 Posts