Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
177 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am signed up for the Summit and here is the trail schedule that I have signed up for:

Thursday: Alpine Loop (Engineer and Cinnamon Passes) at: 7:00 AM
Friday: California Pass and Corkscrew Gulch at: 9:30 AM
Saturday: Imogene Pass to Ophir Pass at: 9:30 AM

I live in Iowa at an elevation of 870 feet. I know that we (two kids and a wife that's afraid of heights) will be going above 12,000 feet. The most offroading I have done is driving through a snowy pasture and hitting the "B" level roads for a little mud action. I have NO rock experience.

This is my daily driver so I don't want to break anything. My wife is going with, but I am going to have to have her sit in the backseat or something.

Does anyone think I bit off more than I can chew or should I be okay? IS there anywhere that requires a spotter or anywhere that I will dragging bottom? I have 3 inches of lift and 34 inch tires.

I can't wait, but I worked my butt off convincing the wife that this is the vacation for us this year so I don't want to have to wonder if I did the right thing. Remember I really have no offroading experience. Are we going to be okay?

Jared

·
Premium Member
9,334 Posts
You will be fine. You are going to have a blast. Make sure you take a camera with the largest memory card possible. I took close to 800 pics last year.
Your rig will have no probs. Stock FJ's have no probs. For the most part the trails are scenic, not technical. You will have a well qualified trail leader on each run.

·
Registered
2,457 Posts
I'm going for the first time, and almost went last year when I got my FJ. I have talked to many folks who have gone about it though. From what I hear, a stocker would be fine. Mostly scenic trails (which you want in Colorado!) without much challenge. All runs are groups so you will have plenty of others around to aid IF needed.