Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings,

I am here to get caught up on the FJ. I am considering an FJ or 4Runner Trail to replace our Ford Expedition. Not only is it aging, it is bigger than we need.

Our hopes, to pull our pop-up (or A-frame replacement), better MPG and general fun.

We hike (mostly winter), kayak (touring) and other fun stuff. I am an amateur radio operator.

In general I am looking to to how either choice will fit our needs.

One of the first questions that come to mind is if an FJ does not have a factory roof, is there a safari rack that that is recommended? Is does not need to be removable.

Oh, my past, I had a '77 Bronco that was used around Moab (Golden Spike, Moab Rim and a bunch of other trails).

Before that, a Bronco II. I bought new it in 1983 sight unseen. I had one of the first ones in my area. I used to visit Moab as well.

Best regards,
Fred

·
Registered
9,680 Posts
Welcome.

If an FJ doesnt have a rack its an easy addition...there are TONs of aftermarket ones too. Steel, aluminum, flat, ect, ect.

They are not fun vehicles to tow with, BUT a popup isnt huge by any means. I wouldnt get it for mileage though...you could see 12-15 at best towing.

Just decide if you want 4 doors or two!. The FJs rear doors dont really count towards much! Also the 4RNR has a rear hatch that goes up...think about opening the door with a trailer on it. Depends on your trailer tongue, and whatnot.

·
Desert Moderator
5,608 Posts
Good luck! Both are good vehicles - of course we're biased on this forum though!
I do't know what economy your Expedition gets, but the FJ can't be much better (unless the expedition is spectacularly bad), but that said, if you take it easy on the highway and you don't red-line it off every set of traffic lights, then it's not truly awful either.