Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I bought a 2007 FJ Cruiser this year, that I love, but immediately wanted to upgrade the stereo.

I have an aftermarket head unit (Kenwood DNX6160), Polk MM6501 speakers in the doors with the tweeters mounted in the dash, and a Polk 250.2 amp driving the speakers and tweets.
Any original speakers (ex. rear pillars) are driven off the head unit.

I had the head unit installed prior to the Polk installation, and everything was fine then. I had all the Polk components installed...they sound fantastic, but there is a constant hiss coming from the tweeters. The volume of the hiss never changes, so if I have loud music playing I barely hear it. However, due to the fact that it's abnormally loud, under normal conditions it's driving me insane.

Any ideas/suggestions? I'm not an audio expert and I didn't install everything myself, so I can't supply a ton of detail. The place that installed the components doesn't know what the cause is, although they said they tried installing filters to no avail. I'm thinking about installing a sub and bridging the amp to drive the sub...then I can trying powering the speakers off the head unit as a test to see if the hiss is there.

In any case, I have to solve the issue because I feel bad for anyone riding in my FJ having to hear tweeter hiss the entire time.

·
Registered
3,087 Posts
My guess would be a bad ground on the amp, but do you have any stock speakers or anything else that you can plug into the stock tweeter location and see if those hiss too? I doubt it's the tweeters if both of them are doing it, but it'd be good to rule them out.