Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Everyone.

I'm wondering if any of you have done any conversions of FJ cruisers to either full-electric or 'hybrid'.
What I am wondering about is adding extra electric motors to the 'vacant' wheels on a 2wd. . .partially as a way to also get extra gas mileage.

I know it might sound ridiculous--I searched the forum, and hesitated to even post about this because I know it might sound ridiculous--but I am seeing how electric manufacturers are putting several electric motors throughout their vehicles.

'Specs' for the new electric Hummer include up to THREE engines--one for the main drive, and the other two for each remaining wheel.

Asking because I'm (begrudgingly) looking at a 2wd when I'd like a 4wd. . .and because I like the idea of tinkering.

Thanks!

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I'm no engineer, but I have the sense that this would be a massively complex and expensive mod.
You're probably right, which is why I asked if anyone has done anything like this.
But it doesn't seem impossible.
I follow a couple of the dudes who do electric mods and electric rat rods on youtube. They make the idea seem accessible. Esp. with FJs, since people like modding them so much--thought there might be people who've tried this particular one, or something like it.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Will check it out.
This guy converted an old manual tranny geo metro--yeah, it's a metro--using an electric forklift motor he found at the junkyard. So I'm thinking about existing and readily available tech as well.

·
Premium Member
1,773 Posts